History Leading to the Cairngorms National Park

1931 - The Addison Committee propose the Cairngorms area for National Park status.

1945-47 - Government Committees, chaired by Sir Douglas Ramsay, reviewed National Parks for Scotland and five prospective Park areas: Loch Lomond & the Trossachs, the Cairngorms, Glen Coe-Ben Nevis-Black Mount, Wester Ross and Glen Strathfarrar-Glen Affric-Glen Cannich.

1951 - The 1949 legislation, which allowed for the establishment of National Parks in England and Wales, did not extend to Scotland but Government designated the five 'Ramsay' areas as National Park Direction Areas, which allowed for some extra scrutiny of development proposals within them.

1953 - Cairngorms National Nature Reserve declared.

1958 - Loch Lomond National Nature Reserve declared.

1975 - The former Countryside Commission for Scotland (CCS) identified Loch Lomond & The Trossachs, the Cairngorms and Glen Coe-Ben Nevis as areas needing special management to care for their national importance.

1981 - The National Park Direction Area designation was replaced, in part, by the new National Scenic Area designation. Of the 40 NSAs identified by CCS, two separate NSAs were identified for parts of Loch Lomond & the Trossachs and the Cairngorms had two adjacent NSAs – one covering the main Cairngorms massif, the other for upper Deeside and Lochnagar.

1991 - The former Countryside Commission for Scotland, in reviewing Scotland's mountain areas, recommended National Park status for four areas: Loch Lomond & the Trossachs, the Cairngorms, Glen Coe-Ben Nevis-Black Mount and Wester Ross.
- In response to the CCS report, Government established working parties for Loch Lomond & the Trossachs (chaired by Sir Peter Hutchinson) and the Cairngorms (chaired by Magnus Magnusson) to undertake a detailed review of the needs of the two areas.

1992 - The report of the Cairngorms Working Party (Common Sense and Sustainability) recommended an approach based on a partnership of key interests and organisations, and this led to the proposal for the Cairngorms Partnership.

1995 - The Cairngorms Partnership is established.

1997 - The new Labour Government declared its intention to create a system of National Parks in Scotland and that Loch Lomond & the Trossachs and the Cairngorms should be Scotland's first Parks. SNH was invited to make proposals for a general model of National Park appropriate to Scotland's needs, as a basis for legislation to be passed by the new Scottish Parliament.

1999 - Government accepted the general National Parks proposals, developed by SNH after wide-ranging consultation, as the basis for legislation by the new Scottish Parliament and the matter became part of the new Parliament's first legislative programme.

2000 - Following debate in Parliament, the National Parks (Scotland) Act 2000 passed into law in August, and soon thereafter Government invited SNH to act as reporter to its proposal to create National Parks for Loch Lomond & The Trossachs and the Cairngorms.

2002 - Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park established.

2003 - Cairngorms National Park established.

2006 - The first National Park Plan for the Cairngorms is approved.

Oct 2009 - As a result of the strategy i.e. Review of National Park, the Scottish Government began the process of modifying the original National Park Designation Orders:
- to extend the Cairngorms National Park boundary into Perth and Kinross
- to reduce the size of Park Authority Boards.

Oct 2010 - National Park Boundary is extended to include Blair Atholl.
National Park Authority Board changed from 25 to 19 members.

Useful link on National Parks legislation: